LLC African American Forum Executive Committee:

Sharon Lynette Jones, Jan. 2025 (Immediate Past Chair)
Dorothy Randall Tsuruta, Jan. 2026 (2024–Jan. 2025 Ch.)
Julius Fleming, Jr., Jan. 2027 (2024–Jan. 2024 Sec.)
McKinley Melton, Jan. 2028
Magani Kabugi, Jan 2029

The Marygrove African American Literature Collection (MAAAC)

1 voice, 0 replies
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
  • #1035798

    Frank D. Rashid

    The Marygrove Conservancy announces the Marygrove African American Authors Collection (MAAAC), a digitized archive of video recordings, photographs, printed materials, and teaching resources generated by the Contemporary American Authors Lecture Series (CAALS).  The MAAAC was developed with the support of a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) and through a partnership between the Conservancy and the Detroit Historical Society, which digitized the materials and houses the digital collection.

    The MAAAC features many of the major authors of the late 20th and early 21st centuries including MacArthur Fellows, National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize recipients, and US Poets Laureate. Here is a complete list: Gloria Naylor, Mary Helen Washington, Paule Marshall, John Edgar Wideman, Sherley Anne Williams, Octavia E. Butler, Jamaica Kincaid, Rita Dove, Virginia Hamilton, Ernest J. Gaines, partnership between the Marygrove Conservancy’Merle Collins, Lucille Clifton, Toi Derricotte, Edwidge Danticat, Cornelius Eady, Pearl Cleage, Edward P. Jones, Charles Johnson, Marilyn Nelson, Samuel R. Delany, Elizabeth Alexander, Walter Mosley, Harryette Mullen, Paul Beatty, Terrance Hayes, Natasha Trethewey, Andrea Lee, Claudia Rankine, Mat Johnson, Colson Whitehead, Elizabeth Acevedo, Roxane Gay, Brit Bennett, and Robert Jones, Jr. The 2024 guest is Tracy K. Smith, who will visit the Marygrove campus on April 12, 2024.

    The MAAAC’s intended users are scholars of African American literature and of the featured authors, college professors, K-12 teachers, and interested members of the public. A unique feature accompanies the collection: teaching resources and lesson plans focused on the authors’ works and developed according to Arts-Infused Education (AIE) principles.

    CAALS was instituted at Marygrove College in 1989 and has featured college and high school courses, community workshops, and writing contests all focused on the works of the visiting authors. The centerpiece is the Bauder Lecture, a free public reading or lecture by the author for an audience of several hundred followed by a book signing. When the College closed in 2019, CAALS gained new life as a legacy program of the Marygrove Conservancy.

    Over the years, partnerships with Detroit public and parochial schools, libraries, and community groups have generated extensive community involvement. In 2020, the pandemic led the Conservancy to a continuing partnership with Detroit Public Television and PBS Books in livestreaming the Bauder Lecture for a nationwide audience numbering in the thousands.

    The Conservancy invites all who are interested in contemporary literature to visit the MAAAC and use its resources.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              Contact:   Frank D. Rashid, Professor Emeritus of English, Marygrove College and  MAAAC  Project Director, Marygrove Conservancy:

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Only members can participate in this group's discussions.