Forum Executive Committee Candidates

1 reply, 2 voices Last updated by Ashley Williard 2 years, 3 months ago
Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author

Joy Palacios
    Participant
    @joypalacios

The MLA Forum Executive Committee Elections are around the corner! Voting will begin in early November and close on December 10th. I am creating this topic so that candidates for the LLC 17th-Century French Forum’s executive committee can post a notice about their interests and goals.

My name is Joy Palacios and I am an assistant professor of Religious Studies in the Department of Classics and Religion at the University of Calgary in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Before moving to Calgary, I was an assistant professor of early modern literature in the Department of French at Simon Fraser University in Burnaby, BC, Canada. I hold a Ph.D. in Performance Studies from the University of California, Berkeley and my research interests concern the religious practice, culture, and literature of the French Counter-Reformation, with particular attention to the tensions between the church and the theater. My book, Ceremonial Splendor: Performing Priesthood in Early Modern France, is forthcoming from the University of Pennsylvania Press (Fall 2022) and examines the way seminary-trained clergymen used representational strategies such as rehearsals, ceremonies, and framing to construct themselves in the image of the parfait ecclésiastique, or perfect churchman. I am a strong advocate of interdisciplinary dialogue and of collaborations that bridge the many humanities fields that inform our study of seventeenth century France, especially performance studies, religious studies, literature, and history. As part of my effort to foster interdisciplinary exchange, I co-organized the MLA Commons Early Modern French Studies Reading Group with Anna Rosensweig from 2013 to 2016, I served as treasurer for the Association des Professeur.e.s de Français des Universités et Collèges Canadiens